A blog from the painting studio of E J Lazenby BA(hons), QTFE(2), ASEA

Holmfirth Art Week


You can find me demonstrating as ‘an invited artist’ this week at Holmfirth Art Week at the Civic Hall in Holmfirth. I shall be working on my Day 67 painting….. image as yet undecided. I’m starting at 6 and working through till 9pm, and hope to have completed the piece in that timescale.

I’m taking with me 30-40 of my 100 challenge paintings, so they are affordable originals with plenty of choice!

Anticipation…..sold today

Holmfirth has been kind to me this year….not only did I manage to get through the melee known as ‘balloted acceptance of entries’, I found out this afternoon that I have in fact sold my hound painting ‘Anticipation’ of my local Rockwood pack…… I’m hoping my other piece, Mr Sexy Neck ( or ‘The Champion’ to give him his catalogue title) may go to a new home by the end of the week.

Mr Sexy Neck

I’m looking forward to a good old browse around the exhibition on thursday, I always find it so inspiring to look at other artist’s works – we are all so different! I will no doubt find somebody elses work to covert and admire, and I just love that feeling when you stand infront of a piece of art that ‘speaks’ to you and the hairs stand up on the back of your neck…..

Holmfirth Art Week runs until saturday and there are lots of venues taking part in the ‘Fringe’ events in the local area around the village. Its well worth a visit! check out  www.holmfirthartweek.org.uk  for further information….

About the Art Week:

The Exhibition in the Civic Hall is one of the biggest open exhibitions in the country featuring work by over 400 professional & amateur artists. As artWEEK is a fundraising event all work submitted must be for sale. A commission of 20% is charged on sales in the Exhibition, Market & Fringe – all proceeds go to Macmillan Cancer Support.

To view all artWEEK facts and figures click here.

Come along to the 2011 artWEEK Exhibition:

  • Sunday 3rd July | 10.00 – 17.00
  • Mon 4th – Fri 8th July | 10.00 – 21.00
  • Sat 9th July | 10.00 – 17.00

Holmfirth Civic Hall
Huddersfield Road
Holmfirth
HD9 3AS

Civic Hall phone no: 01484  22 24 52 (call during artWEEK only)
artWEEK enquiries:  01484 68 94 64 (all year)

Art Week Fringe Events….

Each year, artWEEK is supported by several Fringe events as well as the main Exhibition. It is these additional venues which make artWEEK such a large and successful event and we are privileged to have so many people supporting it year on year.

A free artWEEK flyer, listing the Fringe artists & venues, is available each year at Fringe venues, libraries, tourist information centres and at the Exhibition in the Civic Hall.

Fringe venues are a mixture of art galleries, sports clubs, workshops, warehouses, churches, libraries and cafés. It is fantastic to have so many people and so many venues involved, and the number of Fringe venues increases every year.

Leave a comment